We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Liberal Democrats Local Elections Success

May 7, 2019 9:31 AM

The 2nd May 2019 saw one of the largest quantities of local elections across the country for a long time, and Surrey was no exception. People turned out to elect their new local councillors, and it was a great success for the Liberal Democrats in Surrey.

There were 110 Liberal Democrat Councillors elected across the 11 boroughs and districts, and the Liberal Democrats gained control of the Council in Mole Valley.

Cllr Chris Botten, Leader of the Liberal Democrats at Surrey County Council, said:
"I am delighted that the Liberal Democrats are again a real force in Local Government, with our greatest success since the nineties. Our commitment, to all residents of Surrey, is to work together to represent them, work hard to restore lost services, ensure all councils' budgets are sound, and ensure that we have the infrastructure to support a growing population. The years of austerity will take time to roll back sustainably, but we are here to stay!"

Liberal Democrat seats and gains across Surrey:

Surrey Borough/District Liberal Democrat Seats Liberal Democrat Gains Status of Council
Waverley 14 13 Con lose to NOC
Mole Valley 22 9 LD Gain
Guildford 17 9 Con lose to NOC
Surrey Heath 10 9 Con hold (by 1)
Spelthorne 8 5 Con hold
Runnymede 3 3 Con hold
Tandridge 11 2 Con lose to NOC
Reigate and Banstead 3 2 Con hold
Epsom & Ewell 2 2 RA hold
Elmbridge 10 1 NOC
Woking 10 1 NOC
110 54

Surrey 2019